You are here

African Union Commission

The African Union Commission or AUC is the secretariat to the African Union. The leadership structure of the commission includes the Chairperson, Deputy Chairperson and eight (8) commissioners. They oversee a thematic programme that includes;

  1. Peace and Security
  2. Political Affairs
  3. Trade and Industry
  4. Infrastructure and Energy
  5. Social Affairs
  6. Rural Economy and Agriculture
  7. Human Resources, Science and Technology
  8. Economic Affairs.

The United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA) through its Liaison Office works closely with the AUC to advance the ICPD beyond 2014 and champion the health, wellbeing and rights of young girls, women and young people. UNFPA provides technical assistance and works in partnership with the commission to deliver on its aspirations through Agenda 2063 and to deliver on the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.

Click here for more information on the African Union Commission.